PRE-SEASON | Radcliffe 1-1 Southport

PRE-SEASON | Radcliffe 1-1 Southport

Preparations for the new Vanarama National League North season continued on Tuesday as Southport began their public friendly schedule with a draw at Radcliffe in the new Kappa all white change strip.

After a fortnight’s training for his players, manager Liam Watson gave 45 minutes each to two different line-ups against the team from the Evo-Stik Division One North, managed by the one-time Manchester City striker Jon Macken and former Chelsea defender Frank Sinclair.

The Sandgrounders’ first-half team featured new signings Bradley Bauress, the former Barrow midfielder who joined the previous day, Mike Phenix, goalkeeper Dan Hanford and two trialists, one of whom opened the scoring three minutes before half-time with a free-kick from deep which floated over Radcliffe’s trialist goalkeeper.

Jason Gilchrist headed over from a central position, meeting Jack Sampson’s cross after good work on the left from Bauress, whose corner later in the half led to a goalmouth scramble which resulted in Phenix shooting wide.

Hanford was the only Southport player to remain on the pitch for the duration of the game and on 76 minutes Rick Smith drilled a low free-kick against a post, only for the ball to ricochet in off the visiting goalkeeper.

The second-half line-up also included defenders Zac Corbett and Ryan Astles, while Andy Parry played in central midfield, before being substituted for local lad Lewis Doyle due to a knock, and Devarn Green joined Dan Cockerline in attack.

Cockerline worked his way into the Radcliffe area before being denied by the Radcliffe goalkeeper, who also did well to beat out a firm shot from Billy Whittle.

Southport’s build-up to the new campaign continues on Friday when they play Widnes, kick-off 7.30pm at the Halton Stadium.


Southport first half: Dan Hanford, Jordan Richards, Trialist, Trialist, Billy Priestley, Elliot Osborne, Mike Phenix, David Lynch, Jack Sampson, Jason Gilchrist, Bradley Bauress.

Southport second half: Dan Hanford, Dean Winnard, Zac Corbett, Andy Hollins, Ryan Astles, Nathan Lowe, Billy Whittle, Andy Parry, Dan Cockerline, Devarn Green, Liam Davies.

Report by Alan Jones

Previous UPDATE | Cashless Turnstiles
Next DETAILS | 2018/19 Programme Subscriptions Available